IELTS language levels explained

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is an international standardised test of English language proficiency. It is jointly managed by University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations, the British Council and IDP Education Pty Ltd, and was established in 1989. Learn about the IELTS standard and its 9 band scale below.

IELTS academic version

Intended for those who want to enroll in universities and other institutions of higher education and for professionals such as medical doctors and nurses who want to study or practice in an English-speaking country.

IELTS general training version

Intended for those planning to undertake non-academic training or to gain work experience, or for immigration purposes.

The 9 band scale

IELTS is scored on a nine-band scale, with each band corresponding to a specified competence in English. Overall band scores are reported to the nearest half band.

The band rounding convention

If the average across the four skills ends in 0.25, it is rounded up to the next half band. If it ends in 0.75, it is rounded up to the next whole band.

The IELTS bands

Accredited by these organisations : ICEF, English UK

Learn a language with gostudylink